Planet Desire (part 2) / Planeet Verlangen (deel 2)

alpenflieger_555_schmal1

I was about ten years young and we had been tinkering for some time, at least, when he had the time. It had always been his initiatives, tinkering ‘together’ was relative: he actually enjoyed most of being busy with it by himself. I was the admiring sorcerer’s apprentice who was allowed to do the rough work.
But did we make beautiful things! Model ships, from yachts to classic three-mast warships, kites with artistic long tails and model airplanes. We built gliders that we let soar from a hill in the ‘Prater’, Vienna’s largest public park.

We had just started a bigger project when I got the mumps, which meant quarantine. The long waiting days passed sullenly.
The last day of the ordeal, and the door to the large bedroom I normally shared with my brother opened. And there he stood with a giant white glider in his hand, two meters wingspan, made from balsa wood and harnessed with velum, as light as a feather. He let it go with a light movement of his wrist and there it came towards me, with a majestic slowness, perfectly balanced, until it landed on my bed. I was speechless with happiness.

When I had recovered we continued to our hill in the Prater to do more test flights. Not too long after that we went to the Alps for a long weekend and we climbed up a mountain, I don’t remember which one. I have to say this: the love for mountains, hiking, calm, free spaces and  (individual) freedom I owe to my father. At that time sporting ambition was another issue and of course he was the first to reach the summit. That was another trait: he could not wait.

I carried the glider’s hull in my rucksack, he carried the wings. It was a splendid day, airless, even on the summit. Before us a deep valley stretched to a hazy distance. We had put the glider together and I stood there and held it, my arm stretched above me. We had talked it through but I had a hard time letting it go. I looked to my father. He winked at me, and when he nodded I let go of the glider.

After a short dive it stabilized into its glide and departed slowly. It seemed almost arrogant, indifferent, singly interested in the aesthetic of its flight. I don’t remember how long we have been sitting on the summit enjoying the beauty of this majestic glide. I was proud and a little sad. Now and then we lost sight of it, but then we saw the white wings hopefully lighting up again in the afternoon sun. And then the moment when it was lost for good in the far haze.

This is a moment with my father that I have never forgotten and this was the story I told at his funeral. I also told that he had left our family for another woman a year or so after this glorious moment. Just like that. He disappeared from our lives without an explanation. We were only able to follow his life from a far distance without contact. Many years later – when I was a father myself – came a reunion. It took a lot of conversations, good ones and bad ones, until there was reconciliation. The roles were redistributed; father and son became friends and could enjoy this late friendship. I am at peace with that and I know that he was, too.

You haven’t asked for this story but I am grateful that you have read it. Thank you.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

alpenflieger_555_schmal1

Planeet Verlangen (deel 2)

Ik was ongeveer tien jaar en we hadden al een tijd samen geknutseld, tenminste, als hij tijd er voor had. Het waren wel altijd zijn initiatieven geweest en ‚samen’ knutselen was relatief: eigenlijk genoot hij ervan om zichzelf bezig te houden. Ik was de bewonderende tovenaarsleerling die het grove werk mocht doen.
Maar wat hebben we mooie dingen gemaakt: modelschepen, van zeiljachten tot spectaculaire driemasters, vliegers met kunstige lange staarten en modelvliegtuigen. We bouwden zweefvliegtuigen die we vanaf een heuvel in het Weense Prater glijvluchten lieten maken.

We waren net aan een groot project begonnen toen ik de bof kreeg. Dat betekende quarantaine. De dagen duurden lang.
Op de laatste dag ging de deur naar de grote slaapkamer die ik gewoonlijk met mijn broer deelde open. En daar stond hij met een reusachtige witte zweefvlieger, twee meter spanwijdte, van balsahout bespannen met perkamijn, vederlicht. Hij liet hem zachtjes gaan en daar kwam hij aanvliegen, met een majestueuze traagheid, perfect uitgebalanceerd, tot hij op mijn bed landde. Ik was sprakeloos van geluk.

Toen ik weer beter was, gingen we weer naar onze heuvel in het Prater om testvluchten uit te voeren. Niet lang daarna waren we een weekend in de Alpen. We beklommen samen een berg, ik ben vergeten welke. Ik moet nog zeggen dat ik mijn liefde voor bergen, bergwandelingen, voor stilte, vrije ruimte en vrijheid (ook de individuele) aan mijn vader te danken heb. Toen kwamen er nog sportieve ambities bij en natuurlijk was hij als eerste bij de top. Zo was hij ook, hij kon niet wachten.

In mijn rugzak droeg ik de romp van de zweefvlieger, hij had de vleugels meegenomen. Het was een schitterende dag, windstil, zelfs hier op de top. Voor ons zagen we een diep dal dat zich uitstrekte tot een heiige verte. We hebben de vlieger in elkaar gezet en daar stond ik toen en hield hem omhoog. We hadden alles goed doorgesproken maar ik had moeite om afscheid te nemen. Ik keek naar hem. Hij gaf mij een knipoog en toen hij mij toeknikte, liet ik zweefvlieger los.

Hij begon aan een korte duikvlucht, stabiliseerde zich snel en nam afscheid van ons. Hij leek bijna arrogant, ongeïnteresseerd, alleen bezig met de esthetiek van zijn eigen vlucht. Ik weet niet meer hoe lang wij daar boven hebben gezeten en genoten van die glijvlucht. Ik was trots en een beetje bedroefd. Af en toe verloren we hem uit het oog maar dan lichtten de witte vleugels weer even hoopvol op in de middagzon. En toen het moment dat hij in de verre mist echt verdwenen was.

Dit was een moment met mijn vader dat ik nooit vergeten ben en het was het verhaal dat ik op zijn begrafenis vertelde. Wat ik ook vertelde was dat hij een jaar na dat moment ons gezin verlaten had, zomaar, voor een andere vrouw. Hij verdween uit ons leven zonder uitleg. We hebben uit de verte nog ontwikkelingen kunnen volgen. De vergelijking met de verdwijnende zweefvlieger lag dus voor de hand. Pas vele jaren later – ik had al zelf kinderen – kwam de hereniging. Na vele gesprekken – goede en kwade – ook de verzoening. De rollen werden herverdeeld, vader en zoon werden vrienden en konden van de vriendschap genieten. Ik heb er vrede mee en hij had dat ook.

Je hebt er niet om gevraagd, maar toch dank als je tot hier hebt gelezen.

 

6 thoughts on “Planet Desire (part 2) / Planeet Verlangen (deel 2)

Geef een reactie

